Posted on

So, what’s new?

So, what’s new?

After having completed another course sponsored by Yad Vashem on Holocaust Studies, I took off for the green land known as Canada. I was refreshed and delighted by sweet weather and my dear family and then it was time to come home to Kibbutz Nir-Oz.

Good to be back? Well, of course to hug my beloved children.

But in other news, as has been shown by ynet.com, it’s been a few days of constant listening. I carry out conversations in person, on the phone and in my head while  I periodically note booms and more booms. I await the call of the Red Alert from the regional system or from our Kibbutz located factory, and I carry on.

Newspaper reports don’t always acknowledge the rocketfire that goes on during the day. There are bigger rockets or more noteworthy landings near the big cities of Ashkelon and Be’er Sheva or even Ofakim. But those reports also engage my attention. There’s a kind of dual perception that sneaks into one’s life – the immediate engagements of the moment and the secondary reality of sporadic and possible danger.

Those with ADHD are the winners – those lucky folks gifted with multiple attention spans – no problem – they’re well rehearsed for these times.

Those who are more linear – who like their days piled neatly – are more shaken.

How do you categorize yourself? Could you keep the zen during these times?

Oh, and if you have facebook, perhaps you’d like to join my friend Adele’s new group: Life on the Border with Gaza, Things People May not Know (but should)

& may it be a peaceful weekend

-judih, August 26, 2011

Leave a Reply

